## European Road Safety Action Programme 2011-2020 Results of the public consultation Brussels, 2 December 2009

**Registration of the participants** 

09h30 - 10h00 **INTRODUCTION** 

- Mr Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission in charge of transport
- Mr Leif Zetterberg, Secretary of State for Communications, Sweden, Presidency of the European Union
- Mrs Silvia-Adriana ȚICĂU, Vice-Chairwoman of Committee on Transport and Tourism, European Parliament

### 10h00 – 10h30 PROBLEMS AND STATE OF PLAY

# Assessment of the results of the current European Road Safety Action Plan (2001-2010)

• Mr Enrico Grillo Pasquarelli, Director Inland Transport, DG TREN

# First results of the public consultation on the next European action programme (2011-2020)

 Mrs Isabelle Kardacz, Head of the Road Safety Unit, DG TREN: Presentation of the main results of the six workshops on specific topics and of the public consultation on Internet

#### 10h30 – 11h30 PANEL 1: SAFETY OF VEHICLES AND OF INFRASTRUCTURE

"Grand Witness": **Mr Francesco Gori, CEO of Pirelli Tyre and President of ETRMA** 

Moderator: Mr Alex Taylor

The panellists have the floor:

- The safety of motorcycles: Mrs Aline Delhaye, General Secretary of FEMA
- Road safety and the vehicles of the future: Mr Pete Thomas, Professor at the University of Loughborough
- Road safety and climate change: Mr Jos Dings, Director, Transport and Environment
- Infrastructure adjusted to all road users: Mr Angel Lopez, Vice-mayor of the City of Barcelona
- The supervision of the safety of the roads and motorways: Mr Maurizio Rotondo, Chairman of the committee on road safety of ASECAP
- The challenges of the future in road safety, for infrastructure: Mr Rik Nuyttens, 3M, Vice-president of ERF

#### 11h30 – 12h30 **DEBATE WITH THE PARTICIPANTS**

12h30 - 13h00	Launching the new Internet EUROPA website on road safety and in parallel, press conference and 2009 Award ceremony of the European Road Safety Charter
13h00 – 14h15	Lunch
14h30 – 15h30	PANEL 2: THE EUROPEAN CITIZEN, ACTOR OF ROAD SAFETY
	"Grand Witness": Mrs Michèle MERLI, Déléguée interministérielle

The panellists have the floor:

à la sécurité routière (France) Moderator: Mr Alex Taylor

- The road victims: Mrs Vassiliki Danelli-Mylonas, President of Board of the Road Safety Institute "Panos Mylonas", Athens
- The professional drivers: Mr Wieslaw Starostka, Director General ZMPD, Road hauliers association of Poland
- The public authorities: Mr Jörg Wagner, Ministerialdirigent, Leiter der Unterabteilung Straßenverkehr, Berlin
- The traffic police: Mr Demetris Demetriou, Chief of the traffic police from Cyprus
- Doctors helping vulnerable road users and elderly people: Mr Mark Tant, Neuropsychologist Researcher, Head of CARA Department – IBSR, Brussels

15h30 – 16h30	DEBATE WITH THE PARTICIPANTS
16h30 – 17h00	Coffee break
17h00 – 17h30	Conclusions of the panel discussions by the two "Grand Witnesses"
17h30 – 17h45	Closing of the conference:  Mr Antonio Preto, Head of Cabinet of the Vice President of the European Commission in charge of Transport: "Next steps"
18h00 – 19h00	Cocktail (without alcohol)