Skip to main content
European Commission logo
Mobility & Transport - Road Safety

Vehicle categories

EU law divides motor vehicles and trailers into 4 broad categories.

Category L

Mopeds and motorbikes, as well as all-terrain vehicles (quads) and other small vehicles with 3 or 4 wheels.

Within category L, motorbikes are further subdivided into 2 groups (with and without sidecars). There is also a subdivision for mopeds with 3 wheels, which have smaller engines and lower top speeds than motor tricycles.

Category M

Vehicles with at least 4 wheels designed to carry passengers - essentially, cars.

Category N

Vehicles designed to carry goods, grouped by size. Essentially lorries and vans.

Category O

Trailers and semitrailers.